Good old Games, gets a little... Bloody!

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Good old Games, gets a little... Bloody!

Post by DustyStyx » Tue Apr 20, 2010 02:37 pm

I was wondering when this was going to happen.

You will soon be able to buy Blood again. (04/20/2010)

http://www.gog.com/en/gamecard/one_unit_whole_blood

Thanks for the update leileilol!

I wonder if they actually got the source code and fixed it up or if they will pipe it through DOSBox.
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN » Tue Apr 20, 2010 03:21 pm

I just asked that very question on their forums.
User avatar
Fiend:Kamikaze
A LUMBERJACK!
Posts: 114
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 03:29 pm
Location: United States

Post by Fiend:Kamikaze » Tue Apr 20, 2010 03:31 pm

It would be wonderful if they didn't just dosbox it, but:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOSBox

"GOG.com uses DOSBox for some of their releases."

and

http://www.gog.com/en/thanks/

"DOSBox Crew for their DOS emulator which we use with some of our games."

I hate to be a buzzkill, but it's probably dosbox'd. I was always hoping for a Steam release that ran correctly under Windows.

EDIT: Also, I read up on Duke3d from GOG, which was bundled with dosbox, and apparently all of the old dos games from them are.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Tue Apr 20, 2010 03:47 pm

shell out the $6 and ask for the source code in the comments. =]P I wonder if GoG has a policy against that.
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN » Tue Apr 20, 2010 04:07 pm

Well, most are of the opinion they will package it with DOSBox....

http://www.gog.com/en/forum/general/mon ... ew_release

Guess we wait till Thursday :D
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by Tchernobog » Tue Apr 20, 2010 05:46 pm

Fiend:Kamikaze wrote: I hate to be a buzzkill, but it's probably dosbox'd. I was always hoping for a Steam release that ran correctly under Windows.

EDIT: Also, I read up on Duke3d from GOG, which was bundled with dosbox, and apparently all of the old dos games from them are.
So, what were you expecting? Most DOS games at Steam are bundled in this way anyway, so why is it bad that GOG is doing the same thing?

As to wondering if they might be able to improve it, it is amazing enough they got the rights to sell it.

And I have no problems with running Blood through Dosbox on my computer at the moment, except for one bug with the Dosbox music which will hopefully be fixed soon.

Still, it is sad Blood is still denied the privileges that even Ken's Labyrinth enjoys...
http://jspenguin.org:81/lab3d_sdl/

Question: Does GOG only sell DOS games? Will Blood II also end up here?
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Tue Apr 20, 2010 05:52 pm

Well, they have Shogo. And apparently Atari just signed a contract with GoG last month., so a lot of older games might show up. They might get the Blood II stuff soon. I guess it would depend on how well things go.

Also, it's not BAD thing that it's piped through DOSBox. It's an improvement over not doing anything at all with it and it does help set questions to rest whether or not Atari still has rights to publish the game.
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by Tchernobog » Tue Apr 20, 2010 06:24 pm

DustyStyx wrote: It's an improvement over not doing anything at all with it and it does help set questions to rest whether or not Atari still has rights to publish the game.
I wonder what this means for the speculation that Warner Brothers now holds the rights? Atari is credited on the Blood page, so maybe they still hold the rights after all... :shrug:

So, in what form do you get the game if you get it from GOG? I know it is a digital download, but how do you receive it? In what form?

But if I wanted to buy Shogo again I know where I would go anyway... :P
http://www.tuxgames.com/details.cgi?&gameref=46
User avatar
Liberation
Axe Zombie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 06:25 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Liberation » Thu Apr 22, 2010 12:12 pm

I've just bought it from GOG, it runs with Dosbox. I didnt know Blood had video clips :D
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Thu Apr 22, 2010 03:02 pm

I just got it myself.

Runs on DOSBox
Video: Yes
Audio sound track: Yes (tracks ripped to ogg)
Framerate: 20-30fps@1280x1024 (playable)

Test computer specs:
2.33GHz Core Duo (E6550)
4GB RAM
Windows 7 Enterprise (64-Bit)

It looks like the all the DOSBox .conf files are all out in the open within the installation folder so it shouldn't be hard to tell Blood to load a specific map.

This is great =] good work GoG!

Addendum: looks like Cryptic passage is crashing on me. Anyone else having this issue?

Addendum2: It seems that the GoG installer installs Blood without giving the user proper permissions to the installation folder. This prevents Cryptic.exe from renaming the tiles.art files, it probably also prevents users from saving the game.

Just give yourself full control rights to the OUWB installation folder and "problem solved"
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN » Thu Apr 22, 2010 05:15 pm

I'll grab it when I get home. Dont want to download it here at work.

Speaking of that, how is it packaged? Is the download password protected or something? If i did download it at work, could I take it home and install it?
User avatar
Liberation
Axe Zombie
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 06:25 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Liberation » Thu Apr 22, 2010 05:52 pm

You should be able too, its a .exe with no DRM s***.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Thu Apr 22, 2010 08:02 pm

The only thing I could see that might be an issue is that when it installs it checks for updates. But once it's installed you could just copy the directory and put it whereever you like. All the link files it creates point directly to DOSBox
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1263
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by Tchernobog » Thu Apr 22, 2010 09:15 pm

Updated our news section over at the Blood Wiki. :guns:

http://blood.wiki-site.com/index.php/Main_Page
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 787
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN » Thu Apr 22, 2010 09:26 pm

Nice Job Tchernobog!

You should ask GoG for some royalties :P
Post Reply