Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
nightsmoke
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:43 pm

Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by nightsmoke »

Around 2013 I have figured out how to get Blood 1 E1M1 geometry to Unity engine.
// This was previously posted by me (thenight/nightsmoke) at blood.freeminde.de

If anyone is interested how to do that here is how I done it:

1) I have found converter at Ken Silvemans home page - MAP2STL.ZIP. A utility for converting Build .MAP files to .STL format (simple triangle soup)
3ds max [2014] can open *.stl natively (well ... sorf of). It's similar to obj format.
But! Map must be "decrypted" before conversion (Don't really know why)
BLUD2B can do that - this will take an encrypted Blood map, and convert it to a plain BUILD map. Then the conversion to *.stl worked.
Example: in command line type "MAP2STL.exe e1m1.map e1m1.stl"

http://advsys.net/ken/buildsrc (map2stl)*
http://blood.sourceforge.net/rebuild.php (blud2b)

* - my antivirus gives me alert on this file, but i think it's false alarm.

It looks something like this

Image

2) I have imported STL file to 3ds max 2014 and whole map geometry has been flipped in Y and Z axis. It's was not a big deal. Solution was two clicks away.
E1M1 map has ~5400 polygons. After cleanup ~2000 polys (but it still can be much much lower number)
The conversion itself creates a lot of mess like flipped polygon normals, many overlapped faces and other weird artefacts. Still don´t know why :/
It takes me about two hours to make things right.
The good thing is that it's not that difficult with stack sectors in this map. They has exactly same size, so I have attached bottom and upper part together. But sure - It can be a problem in more complex maps.

Image

3) Then I have imported map geometry (fbx) to Unity engine (geometry only ... no sprites, no textures).
I have added actor with camera, added some lights, rendered ambient occlusion map (shadows) and add some of my weapon models.
Still the "actor" is little bit small and movement/mouse_look is really wierd (I´m no programmer)
So If you guys want to test it, here is the latest Unity Build - http://bit.ly/1IqnKk2
Just run the exe file, set your screen resolution and quality. Default input is set to WSAD - move / Space - jump.

Image

And I think I'm able to import textures and sprites into this build. The question is ... Why the hell I would do that? ,) There is really no reason.

Anyway my Hdd crashed not a long time ago and all source files of this project are gone. All I have is this latest build, because I have uploaded it to my google drive account.
But if someone is interested in this project I can do ALL the things once again. But be sure it will take some time ,)

-ns-
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 810
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

Very interesting. You're right about the actor size and movements. I don't know much about the Unity engine but I'm sure things like that could be easily manipulated.
User avatar
N0t_mINe
Acolyte
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 05:35 am
Location: LURKERS DON'T DRAMA.

Re: Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by N0t_mINe »

nightsmoke wrote:

Anyway my Hdd crashed not a long time ago and all source files of this project are gone. All I have is this latest build, because I have uploaded it to my google drive account.
But if someone is interested in this project I can do ALL the things once again. But be sure it will take some time ,)

-ns-
Holy.

Crap.

B[]

This would explain your interest in abc2MDS .
Fwiw, you have my vote. Please continue this if you can.
User avatar
nightsmoke
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:43 pm

Re: Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by nightsmoke »

One quickie from yesterday evening / builded today
BB3: Bodies in Unity

Image

- It is a pretty small and simple map. There were only two minor problems with flipped normals after the conversion (map->stl)
- It is difficult to set proper actor height for me. It was set to 1.8m. Still looks weird.
- And many things has changed since Unity 4. I´m noob to Unity 5 ,)

Playable build ~14MB
http://bit.ly/1Ljm5lm
(Controls - WASD, Shift, Space)

Source files ~58MB
http://bit.ly/1ByPRQN
(unity scene, fbx, 3ds, max, textures)

-ns-
User avatar
N0t_mINe
Acolyte
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 05:35 am
Location: LURKERS DON'T DRAMA.

Re: Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by N0t_mINe »

Any chance I could interest you in n host besides Google drive for your next upload? My older android does not like overly flash dependant sites.
User avatar
nightsmoke
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2015 12:43 pm

Re: Blood 1 E1M1 in Unity

Post by nightsmoke »

N0t_mINe: Sure. I can upload it somewhere else.

Is ulozto.net fine?

Playable build - http://ulozto.net/xC8ftaX8/blood1-bb3-v01-build-rar
Source files - http://ulozto.net/xr7jGJhn/blood1-bb3-v01-source-rar
Post Reply