Blood Addon: The Carnage Continues

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Wed Jan 18, 2006 07:38 am

Boss429: Carnage.zip includes a seperate tiles012 file that you can replace the existing tiles012 with. This replaces the v_wep animations for the pitchfork, the tommy gun, the tessla cannon, the spray can, and the life leech.
User avatar
RedFanatic
A More Tidy Caleb
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 04:56 pm
Location: Somewhere

Post by RedFanatic » Wed Jan 18, 2006 03:40 pm

Well Harry i have finally had the time to have a good bash at Carnage
and have pretty much done Lev 1 WOW it's very good i've been doing
a lot of Mapediting recently and i thought i could pretty much see how
most maps are made but Dude! i just diden't know some of those thing
where possible, like the water that lapped the shore and that Cannon

so overall i think it's amazing just for a showcase of how far Mapedit
can be pushed, but it's also a good design for fun....well almost, for me
althought they are scary and a real challenge Phantasems should be used
in small doses since they seem immune to everything but the shotgun
or Fork i always find my self just getting annoyed by too many, but having
said that it is very challenging and thats always a good thing.

hopefully i'll get some more play time and see what happens next :D

oh one more thing any chance of a spoiler as to where the dagger key is
i've run around the level a few times but my health and ammo are too
low to have much time to find it.
User avatar
Ra_Ra_Gazaa
Resident Phantasm
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 04:08 am

Post by Ra_Ra_Gazaa » Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:17 pm

RedFanatic wrote:Phantasems should be used
in small doses since they seem immune to everything but the shotgun
or Fork i always find my self just getting annoyed by too many
Yes, we are quite ANNOYING, aren't we? :wink:

At least the fork has infinite ammo...

:phantasm:
Harry

Post by Harry » Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:21 pm

Thanks for the kind words, redfanatic. It makes all the effort worth it. Expect some strategy and stealth in Ep-2.

I've sanctioned another Win-98 PC to test the addon. If the cutscenes dont work, I'll reupload an unpacked version. This will however, intefere with your existing files.

If the cutscenes worked the first time and and not the second time, then always run nocuts.bat. The cutscenes should work EVERYTIME.
Harry

Post by Harry » Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:23 pm

If the cutscenes run in small windows, then your desktop res is prolly greater than 800x600. Blood was designed to run in DOS
User avatar
boss429
Cabal member
Posts: 366
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2005 02:29 am
Contact:

Post by boss429 » Thu Jan 19, 2006 02:06 am

Cruaich wrote:Boss429: Carnage.zip includes a seperate tiles012 file that you can replace the existing tiles012 with. This replaces the v_wep animations for the pitchfork, the tommy gun, the tessla cannon, the spray can, and the life leech.
Oh ok I get it.
Running nocuts.bat makes it so the cutscence run everytime but the screen is all hacked up so I can't read the words.

Why do the walls in the first map bleed?
Harry

Post by Harry » Thu Jan 19, 2006 06:30 am

Ok, I ran TCC on a machine using BuildXP, AMD Turion 64, ATI Graphics, some sound card and using nocuts.bat, the cutscenes run perfectly everytime. I used the original Blood CD patched to 1.20.

Tomorrow, I'll test it again on a 98 machine.

RedF, the dagger key is inside the Bank's main vault.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Thu Jan 19, 2006 06:32 am

Harry, did you download it from your rapid share or the deathmask mirror and test that?
User avatar
RedFanatic
A More Tidy Caleb
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 04:56 pm
Location: Somewhere

Post by RedFanatic » Fri Jan 20, 2006 02:49 am

Ty harry :)

*flicks RaRa's head*
Harry

Post by Harry » Sat Jan 21, 2006 01:24 am

Ok, after a lot of headaches, I finally installed Blood 1.20 on a PIII with Win-98. The cutscenese run perfectly everytime if you use nocuts.bat.

I downloaded from the deathmask mirror.

Cruaich, the problem might be that the Carnage.rff file is made read only. Uncheck that and delete it because you may notice that nocuts.bat attempts to delete any carnage.rff file before executing the TC. Make sure that carnage.rff does'nt exist before running the game. That way, the sounds are patched everytime, being treated as the first run. If the sounds patching/rff file creation occurs everytime before running, the cutscenes will always work.

About ladders, no they are'nt a part of normal blood but made through mapedit.
User avatar
Slava
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:39 pm
Location: MSK
Contact:

Post by Slava » Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:53 pm

Harry, what program do you use to encode *.SMK files? I can't play it neither with:
1. RAD Video Tools featuring Bink and Smacker
(Bink version 1.6c, Smacker version 4.1f)
2. Smacker for Windows
(Smacker version 4.2b)
User avatar
Ra_Ra_Gazaa
Resident Phantasm
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 04:08 am

Post by Ra_Ra_Gazaa » Sat Jan 21, 2006 08:37 pm

RedFanatic wrote: *flicks RaRa's head*
Nice try, but you can bring no harm to a phantasm unless it makes an attempt to attack you... :wink:

Anyway, I should say something about Carnage...

My first impression of it was... RAIN! Rain, rain, rain... etc.

Sadly, due to technical difficulties (and no, not to do with the cutscenes), I haven't been able to get that far in it... However, should I get to the end, Harry, I will let you know what I make of it. :)

:phantasm:
Harry

Post by Harry » Sat Jan 21, 2006 09:41 pm

I used the old Smacker but the .smk files work with the new smacker tools too. I hope Blood plays the cutscenes for you...

Can you please make an english version of your russian forum...babelfish does'nt help much...
User avatar
Slava
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:39 pm
Location: MSK
Contact:

Post by Slava » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:20 pm

I used the old Smacker but the .smk files work with the new smacker tools too. I hope Blood plays the cutscenes for you...
Harry, what version of Smacker exactly?
Can you please make an english version of your russian forum...babelfish does'nt help much..
:) You mean english language support in profile? OK. I'm workin on it. It can take some time. Hope no longer than a month. At least somebody will help me with it.
User avatar
Slava
Rat
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 06:39 pm
Location: MSK
Contact:

Post by Slava » Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:49 pm

Latest version 1.8g of the Bink Tools:
http://www.radgametools.com/

Can't play
Image
Post Reply