WinBlood updated

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

Post Reply
Drakan

Necv Xouhkot

Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:02 pm

Post by Drakan »

Hater wrote:The project is DEAD!!! :evil: :evil: :evil:
You hear me?
DEAD!!!
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Your mum sucks.
K'aleb 996

Post by K'aleb 996 »

Hater wrote:The project is DEAD!!! :evil: :evil: :evil:
You hear me?
DEAD!!!
:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
Yeah...
Winblood project is deader than dead...
Unfortunately...
:cry: :cry: :cry:
Drakan

Necv Xouhkot

Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:02 pm

Post by Drakan »

You gotta be s*** me... Ice was giving us all these updates.

:(
sirlemonhead
Cultist
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 03:23 pm

Post by sirlemonhead »

I'm trying to find out what's up...I know he's had exams and projects up to the neck to get done, so that's why progress on the port has seemingly stopped. His ISP also stopped him hosting the forums on his home machine, so I don't think he's even had time to think about alternative hosting.

I'll try get in touch with him and find out what the story is. I haven't really spoken to him in about a month..
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 872
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Post by Willis »

Tell him he can contact me about alternative hosting
willis -at- deathmask.net
sirlemonhead
Cultist
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 03:23 pm

Post by sirlemonhead »

Thanks :) I'll send him an e-mail about that now.
User avatar
)))000(((
Cultist
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:56 am
Location: Earth...
Contact:

Post by )))000((( »

M'KAY
sirlemonhead
Cultist
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 03:23 pm

Post by sirlemonhead »

Speaking to him right now, Apparently he was away on Vactation so WinBlood work will be resuming ASAP :D

He'll send you an e-mail soon Willis. Cheers.
User avatar
da_weezle
Acolyte
Posts: 498
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2004 11:36 pm
Location: Iceland

Post by da_weezle »

This may be a not-so-intelligent question, but what's the point in creating this port again? If blood works over TCP/IP now, there's not really any point imo, unless you can't get it to run under WinNT etc.
User avatar
mouth
Acolyte
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:33 am
Contact:

Post by mouth »

r u kidding? did u see jonof's duke3d port?
we can talk about advantages in terms of speed, graphics and compatibility. Don't u wanna see Blood in extra high res 3d accelerated? I never had the chance to see 3dfx Blood, cos I never had 3dfx card.
At least we could run it in res higher than 640x480.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila »

Don't u wanna see Blood in extra high res 3d accelerated?
nope. it was fine the way it was.
I never had the chance to see 3dfx Blood, cos I never had 3dfx card.
nothing awesome. everything blurred.
At least we could run it in res higher than 640x480.
running build games in res higher than 640x400 won't give any significant benefits. except for redneck rampage cuz it has hires textures (well, hires in the build standards).
User avatar
mouth
Acolyte
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:33 am
Contact:

Post by mouth »

no dude, Blood looks pretty damn good in 1024x768. I CAN see the difference. 3d acceleration is still a nice option.
Daedalus
The Dreaming God
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 05:06 pm
Location: The Hall of the Epiphany
Contact:

Post by Daedalus »

I've seen Blood on about ten different computers. In almost every case 800x600 runs perfectly smoothly, while 1024x768 is just a *little* bit laggy.

800x600 is the perfect balance in almost every case, the balance between speed and appearance.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila »

higher res in build engines means only the far objects will appear nicer.

i play in 640x400 cuz it's the NATIVE 320x200 times TWO which means no internal message/fonts will be screwed up (in higher than 640x400 the edges get a little bit screwy because of the scaling w/o filtering of course)
Daedalus
The Dreaming God
Posts: 1012
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 05:06 pm
Location: The Hall of the Epiphany
Contact:

Post by Daedalus »

Gila is correct. With 800x600 enabled, extremely close objects still appear as a mass of pixels, but distant ones look far better.

800x600 is still good because in 320x200 it's really terrible. Everything past the edge of your nose is a big blur....
Post Reply