Clearest Audio Quality In Blood

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Clearest Audio Quality In Blood

Post by Ransu »

I figured this out for myself earlier from what I've learned out of people trying to get Blood's sound quality better. First thing's first....

1. Go to http://buildxp.deathmask.net and follow ALL steps and complete it. The only thing you should do different is set the Mixing Rate to 44 Khz instead of 22 Khz.

Image

2. Now, on your computer, go to C:\Program Files\VDMSound\ and open VDMS.ini using notepad. Scroll down and change the minDMAPeriod from 5 to 1 as shown here.

Image

Go to File and click Save.

3. Go to where you saved blood.vlp(VDMSound Shortcut). Right-click on blood.vlp and click Properties. On the VDMSound tab, click Advanced... and then click the Performance tab. Change the min Polling Period from 5 to 1. It should be 1 and 15 as shown here.

Image

Click OK, then click Apply, and then click OK.

4(optional). If you've got a Sound Blaster X-Fi card or something with a similar feature then I highly suggest using the Crystalizer turned to the max.

Image

5. Double-click on blood.vlp, the VDMSound Shortcut, and play! Enjoy the high quality audio!

Tell me if this works and post about any problems you might be having! :)
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2038
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx »

Glad that works for you. I've always had a popping noise with VDMSound, after cranking it up to 44KHz
User avatar
Dimebog
The Enlightened Florist
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:22 pm
Location: Among The Living
Contact:

Post by Dimebog »

DustyStyx wrote:Glad that works for you. I've always had a popping noise with VDMSound, after cranking it up to 44KHz
Was just about to say that 44KHz doesn't work well at all with my VDMS setup.
User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Post by Ransu »

Well hey, I've got 2 sound cards. One built into my motherboard, Realtek HD Audio, and the other I got recently, Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer. I tested this out on both and it works fine. I just would like to see you guys try it and tell me if it works.
User avatar
Dimebog
The Enlightened Florist
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:22 pm
Location: Among The Living
Contact:

Post by Dimebog »

DOOMLancelot wrote:Well hey, I've got 2 sound cards. One built into my motherboard, Realtek HD Audio, and the other I got recently, Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer. I tested this out on both and it works fine. I just would like to see you guys try it and tell me if it works.
We've been around mate. Tested all sorts of thing. Take my word for it.
Post Reply