The Blood Source Release petition

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

The Blood Source Release petition

Post by Slink » Tue Jan 08, 2008 08:57 pm

For any newcomers or those who've not signed, please sign the petition for the release of Blood source code.

Even though, it probably no longer exists... :(

http://www.petitiononline.com/bloodsrc/petition.html

-Slink
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila » Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:27 pm

lol, only 1260 votes

that will never work

how long it that petition up? couple of years?
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Wed Jan 09, 2008 01:56 am

Never ever work. :( Where the hell is the Blood community? I know there are more people.

Moot point I guess. The source is supposed by many to be lost.
chicken-
Rat
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 05:36 am

Post by chicken- » Fri Jan 11, 2008 07:14 pm

:( I think it would have been out by now if they still had it.
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Fri Jan 11, 2008 08:59 pm

I bet the source is not lost. You remember some guy uploaded alpha blood with partial source code couple of years ago, it was never released in U.S. except for short range of testers I think. So there's a good chance someone outside still has the source even if Atari conceals it by saying it's lost or they really don't have it.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila » Fri Jan 11, 2008 09:11 pm

that alpha was available since 1996 actually. it was me who uploaded it. and the partial source of that is veeeery very old and fairly useless.
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Fri Jan 11, 2008 09:25 pm

It was available for wide audiences only in Russia/CIS on illegal CD game collections. It's still possible someone got more actual source through the same pirate releases. :?
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila » Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:07 pm

it was leaked is USA, while blood was still developed by 3d realms.

and no THERE IS NO OTHER SOURCE CODE "pirate releases".
User avatar
Dimebog
The Enlightened Florist
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:22 pm
Location: Among The Living
Contact:

Post by Dimebog » Fri Jan 11, 2008 11:54 pm

Blood was never developed by 3D realms, but yeah - good point.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila » Sat Jan 12, 2008 02:03 am

yes it wasn't developed by them, they were involved at some point in the beginning, either as publishers or something like that.

they sent one of their computers for maintenance and it had blood alpha version, and that's how it got leaked.
Mangetsu
Axe Zombie
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 11:23 pm

Post by Mangetsu » Sat Jan 12, 2008 02:27 am

Latest ATARI reference

So, if anyone happens to meet a dude called David Pierce...please, kill him, disintegrate him, whatever...
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:45 am

In analogy with Alpha Blood source might be leaked in more complete state as well. you never know.
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Sat Jan 12, 2008 03:06 pm

I haven't played the alpha at all, but I hear it is useless regarding the recreation of the official release. I agree.
User avatar
Dimebog
The Enlightened Florist
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:22 pm
Location: Among The Living
Contact:

Post by Dimebog » Sat Jan 12, 2008 08:42 pm

Slink wrote:I haven't played the alpha at all, but I hear it is useless regarding the recreation of the official release. I agree.
You should give it a try - it is really great. I will give you a settings file that allows mouse + keyboard play. I've set it up to work just like retail BLOOD. The early concept of the level design is really interesting.
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Sat Jan 12, 2008 09:02 pm

You get mouse-look working in alpha? Quite interesting, I would like to see the settings file.
Here's a tip: QSLUST cheat turns beastmode ON. With weapon cheat you can get claws (but they are useless thru).
Post Reply