QuakeLive

Anything gaming related that is not red and gooey goes in here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

QuakeLive

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

Anyone interested in playing some QuakeLive?

It's pretty fun for a few minutes here and there, and it's free.

If you join, add me to friends and we can play. My nickname is ILiveAGAIN :P

http://www.quakelive.com/
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1342
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by Tchernobog »

So they finished creating it have they? Would be interesting if I had a better Internet connection...
User avatar
Corbin
Zealot
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 09:48 pm
Location: california
Contact:

Post by Corbin »

I've wanted to play it...but I have Quake3, so it'd seem a little pointless. =)

It's looking good though. Kudos to them for redefining things yet again.
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

What I liked about it was being able to play Q3 without having to download endless mods because thats the only servers around anymore.

Also I was hoping they would get a handle on the cheating with Quakelive but it seems people can still do it. Hopefully if they can cut the cheating out, it will be worth it.
User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Acolyte
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 03:13 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by zZaRDoZz »

quake live+ steam 2?



Just asking.
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

Quakelive is just browser based quake, it dosen't spy on you and load useless programs that run in the background on your computer without asking you like Steam does, nor does it download gigabytes of information to your machine without asking you like Steam does. So no, they are not the same. :D
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1904
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink »

LoL, MAN Steam haters! Haha, it really IS pretty intrusive software, tho.
User avatar
Corbin
Zealot
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 09:48 pm
Location: california
Contact:

Post by Corbin »

I Live...AGAIN wrote:What I liked about it was being able to play Q3 without having to download endless mods because thats the only servers around anymore.

Also I was hoping they would get a handle on the cheating with Quakelive but it seems people can still do it. Hopefully if they can cut the cheating out, it will be worth it.
Hmm, vanilla Quake 3 still has tons upon tons of servers without the mods. But yeah - Live would be more popular seeing as it's "newer" anyway.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila »

quake live is total s***. only good thing about it is the online stats and match-making.

the lag is ubearable, i can't hit anything with 80 latency. while in challenge pro-mode ping range of 150-200 is very comfortable.

plus, it's still vanilla q3, what's so great about that. well, maybe a nicer gui and hud.

and, the lack of good maps.

oh yeah, it's also free, which is a plus, but that's because id is probably testing this online stats/match-making stuff to improve it and implement in their future games.
User avatar
Corbin
Zealot
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 09:48 pm
Location: california
Contact:

Post by Corbin »

Hey, there's nothing wrong with vanilla Quake3! =) I actually prefer it, every once in awhile I'll load up Generations. .

Has anyone played the DC port of Quake3? It's pretty fun.
Last edited by Corbin on Fri May 08, 2009 01:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Acolyte
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 03:13 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by zZaRDoZz »

Gila:
oh yeah, it's also free, which is a plus, but that's because id is probably testing this online stats/match-making stuff to improve it and implement in their future games.
At the very least ^^it^^ has to be what they're experimenting with.
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1342
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Post by Tchernobog »

Quake 3 is one of my favourite games of all time, and it will always have a place on my hard drive.

Kudos to Predator, FluSyndrome, and I Live Again for Q3BloodBath btw. :wink:
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 620
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila »

well nothing wrong with q3, i still play it myself from time to time.

playin' CPMA mod though.

after getting used to it, vanilla q3 feels like a cripple trying to get some nice speed or perform a fast rail-sg combo or something like that.

you know, as with everything in life, you get used to good things really fast :)
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

My biggest hope for QuakeLive was that it was going to be watched by the developers closely enough that they would be able to cut out the cheating, instead of just relying on punkbuster which really doesn't work IMO.
While they have done a fair job of that there are still plenty of cheaters in QL. They claim to be working on it and it does seem to have less cheating than regular Q3, but we'll see.
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 808
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Post by I Live...AGAIN »

I am bumping this so you guys will play with me :shooting:
Post Reply