Glitch in Painkiller

Anything gaming related that is not red and gooey goes in here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Post by Ransu » Sat Jan 05, 2008 02:40 am

That affinity thing didn't work at all. However, there was always a time during the loading screen where it would stop and I had to hit enter to make it continue. I found out that it was this little window that came up.

Image
(sorry about the size >.<)
Could it have anything to do with the problem I'm having and is there a way to fix it? It always did this since I first installed the game.
Daedolon
Cultist
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:29 am
Contact:

Re: Glitch in Painkiller

Post by Daedolon » Sat Jan 12, 2008 06:26 pm

DOOMLancelot wrote:Whenever I start the first map of Painkiller, my guy falls through the ground into the void and dies. I even patched it to the latest version and it still does it. Can anyone help me?
This has nothing to do with Painkiller, but the Daggerfall demo always did the same thing for me, it's really weird.
User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Post by Ransu » Fri Feb 08, 2008 11:13 am

Ok now I haven't posted about this since last month but I even updated to a graphics card beta driver and I'm still having this problem. So to help show everyone what's going on, I recorded it with Fraps. Click the link below to watch it. I'll be uploading it to YouTube soon but the one I'm putting on here is better quality than YouTube. The video may lag a bit though.

http://s136.photobucket.com/player.swf? ... &os=1&ap=1

EDIT: YouTube link http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VopJY_2xpg0
PaPPy

Post by PaPPy » Fri Feb 08, 2008 03:20 pm

i had the same problem yesterday

but

let me ask you something: do you have the Painkiller installed too or just the expansion Battle out of hell?
User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Post by Ransu » Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:03 pm

PaPPy wrote:i had the same problem yesterday

but

let me ask you something: do you have the Painkiller installed too or just the expansion Battle out of hell?
It's both Painkiller and Battle Out of Hell together.
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1904
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Fri Feb 08, 2008 09:53 pm

DOOMLancelot wrote:That affinity thing didn't work at all. However, there was always a time during the loading screen where it would stop and I had to hit enter to make it continue. I found out that it was this little window that came up. [...]
Could it have anything to do with the problem I'm having and is there a way to fix it? It always did this since I first installed the game.
LoL Those programmers and their terrible grammar. ;)
Guest

Post by Guest » Sat Feb 09, 2008 01:11 am

i only installed the expansion and tried to play the Painkiller and had the same warning, and when it loaded i just fell down until i was dead.

but i wasn't surprised by that since i only installed the expansion which has 2 cds whereas Painkiller has 3.

i recommend you install Painkiller first and play it and when you finish it install Batte out of hell and play it

i hope that was understandable :D
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1904
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Sat Feb 09, 2008 03:31 pm

I played the PK demo. Ugh...
User avatar
Ransu
Cheetah
Posts: 553
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Post by Ransu » Sun Feb 10, 2008 02:07 am

I really want to get this fixed so I can actually play the game. I tried a bunch of different things and nothing has fixed it. I said this before but the Battle Out of Hell expansion has no problems at all. If anyone can find a solution then I'd be glad to hear it.
Drakan

Necv Xouhkot

Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:02 pm

Post by Drakan » Sun Feb 10, 2008 04:17 pm

Slink wrote:I played the PK demo. Ugh...
Play the whole thing before you talk or GTFO. That "industrial" episode was crap though... (factories.... train stations... boring...)
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1904
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Sun Feb 10, 2008 07:32 pm

Yeah, it looked like old English slums or something. Mostly Steak gun. Mmmmm, steak. In all fairness I watched a video review and it looks better than I thought.
User avatar
Necrosis
Bubble Wrap Man
*not Canadian*
Posts: 1242
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 01:38 am
Location: In The Flesh
Contact:

Post by Necrosis » Mon Feb 11, 2008 02:31 am

Anonymous wrote:i only installed the expansion and tried to play the Painkiller and had the same warning, and when it loaded i just fell down until i was dead.

but i wasn't surprised by that since i only installed the expansion which has 2 cds whereas Painkiller has 3.

i recommend you install Painkiller first and play it and when you finish it install Batte out of hell and play it

i hope that was understandable :D
DL, read this. Check if you actually, for sure, have both installed, because if this is possible, you very well might actually have this problem.
User avatar
wangho
Acolyte
Posts: 512
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 06:30 pm

Post by wangho » Thu Apr 03, 2008 02:05 pm

fantastic game! Just got the Battle Out of Hell expansion and so far it is great as well. That Loony Park level is a breathtaking sight and the clown enemies come straight from Killer Klownz From Outer Space.

Im just having a problem on the original Painkiller at the end at the old monastery. After coming back out of the hole where the chandelier made the openiing I ran to the door and a single enemy was there. Took him out and went down the spiral staircase and killed all the enemies, but no new checkpoint opened up for me. Isnt that door in the same room supposed to open up by the spiral staircase?
Krypto
Cultist
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 05:12 pm

Post by Krypto » Fri Apr 04, 2008 01:52 pm

Have a good look around the entire level, i recall getting stuck on Monastery for quite a while. If my memory serves me well i think you have to shoot down a chandelier to open a door or activate a script? :?
alkaline01
Rat
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2011 09:07 pm

Re: Glitch in Painkiller

Post by alkaline01 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 09:18 pm

Hi guys!!! ive also installed the painkiller v1.54 and i also get a instant die on the first level when falling from the sky?? maybe one of you came on a solution?
Post Reply