What is your common internet connection?

Anything not gaming related goes here. Not sure where something should be posted? Post it in here.

Moderator: General Discussion Moderators

What is your common internet connection?

Modem V92 56K
0
No votes
Low speed DSL/Cable 128K-512K
2
13%
High Speed DSL/Cable 1024K-8192K
11
73%
Sattelite
0
No votes
Other
2
13%
 
Total votes: 15
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

What is your common internet connection?

Post by Vuzeth » Sat Oct 27, 2007 08:52 pm

Making a little research on availability of Internet services worldwide. :lol:
As example I'm using DSL at 128K for $24/month. What connection do you have guys?
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Sun Oct 28, 2007 02:17 am

I mostly just leach off the University's T1 line.
User avatar
Gila
Ye Olde Bloodite
Posts: 621
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2004 12:55 pm
Location: Russia

Post by Gila » Sun Oct 28, 2007 02:29 am

just did a test. sometimes the upload speed is a bit higher, up to 630

Image

and it's 42$ for a month, unlimited traffic. i don't know how relatively expensive is that to USA prices, but hey, i'm in russia.

in a few months i'll have different ISP probably, they are offering 4mbps for approximately the same price, they just didn't lay their cables to my neighborhood yet...
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Sun Oct 28, 2007 07:21 am

I live with my parent, my Mother works for my ISP so I don't know what rate we get it for, but I wouldn't be able to tell you anyhow. I also may get increased speeds. Cable.
Image
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Sun Oct 28, 2007 03:45 pm

Image
Nice the same ISP as Gila's. This is a phone company with regional branches.
But their speeds and prices extremely vary on locations. For example in my region they offer only 256K max. Not sure whether by technical or marketing reasons. :(
User avatar
Phosphoric Acid
Quixotic
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 07:12 pm
Location: England

Post by Phosphoric Acid » Sun Oct 28, 2007 03:55 pm

Sky broadband... yeah never choose them, seriously.

Image
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Post by DustyStyx » Mon Oct 29, 2007 02:18 pm

Image

... and today is a slow day. I seriously wish they'd start doing Utopia in Salt Lake.
User avatar
Vuzeth
Deceptossum
Posts: 303
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 11:41 am
Location: Russia

Post by Vuzeth » Mon Oct 29, 2007 06:13 pm

Very fat pipe. :roll: Would be enough for some dial-up providers.
User avatar
mouth
Acolyte
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:33 am
Contact:

Post by mouth » Mon Oct 29, 2007 07:04 pm

Image

Bah, you fast bastards :)
User avatar
predator
Lead Mapper
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:51 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Post by predator » Tue Oct 30, 2007 09:39 am

Image

That's at work.
User avatar
Bloodite
Cultist
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:14 am
Location: The Great White North
Contact:

Post by Bloodite » Tue Oct 30, 2007 12:00 pm

Image

It should also be noted I live at least 5hrs from Michigan, Im in Hamilton, Ontario.
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Post by Slink » Wed Oct 31, 2007 12:37 am

Image
WOAH. This is at the college. :D I gotta play games here... That is about 1.54 MegaBYTES per second. (15851/1024)

Some of you ppl have a bloody fast connection.
Last edited by Slink on Wed Oct 31, 2007 06:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
Drakan

Necv Xouhkot

Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:02 pm

Post by Drakan » Wed Oct 31, 2007 03:03 am

Image

Well, Mouth? :D
Krypto
Cultist
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 05:12 pm

Post by Krypto » Thu Nov 01, 2007 09:58 pm

Phosphoric Acid wrote:Sky broadband... yeah never choose them, seriously.
If it's the ping your talking about my friend theirs a solution i found by poking my way around google :) If you have poor pings on Sky Broadband

Also to show off here's my friend's Speedtest, the lucky bastard :shock:

Image
User avatar
Phosphoric Acid
Quixotic
Posts: 138
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 07:12 pm
Location: England

Post by Phosphoric Acid » Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:30 pm

Krypto wrote:If it's the ping your talking about my friend theirs a solution i found by poking my way around google :) If you have poor pings on Sky Broadband
Nah, its generally the service and the problems I’ve been having, such as being disconnected without any reason, internet running incredibly slow to the point its unusable, and mostly sky just have poor customer service, I don't like their cable either, over priced and full of crap, should be their new slogan.
Post Reply