| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Tchernobog Zealot
.png)
Joined: 27 May 2008 Posts: 223 Location: Farm near Seba Beach, Alberta Canada
|
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 02:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello, welcome to the forums. Have a nice time here.
Though, this sort of thing should really have been posted in General Chat, but I expect a mod will move it there soon. _________________ Tchernobog, Co-founder and Head Moderator of the Blood Wiki: http://blood.wiki-site.com/
Operating System: Fedora 13 Linux
Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 3650
Memory: 4 Gigabytes
Processor: AMD Sempron CPU 2.7 Ghz
Hard drives: 71.6 GB and 35 GB |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
RedFanatic A More Tidy Caleb

Joined: 12 Oct 2004 Posts: 682 Location: Somewhere
|
Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 04:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Welcome Newlife12 glad you decided to make your new life a Bloody one _________________ Domus Cruo Lokemundux |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Slink Not to be a dick, but...

Joined: 16 Aug 2004 Posts: 1834 Location: Niagara County, NY
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 02:27 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think it's a bot or something. Not logged in...
EDIT: Yep, probably. Same IP as the other one that was just posted... _________________ Steam useres, check out the Transfusion group on Steam. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DustyStyx 2D Artist

Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 2010 Location: Salt Lake
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 02:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| At least it's a friendly bot... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Slink Not to be a dick, but...

Joined: 16 Aug 2004 Posts: 1834 Location: Niagara County, NY
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 05:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| DustyStyx wrote: | | At least it's a friendly bot... |
LoL I'm sure it has an ulterior motive. DON'T TRUST THE MACHINES!! ;-p _________________ Steam useres, check out the Transfusion group on Steam. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
RedFanatic A More Tidy Caleb

Joined: 12 Oct 2004 Posts: 682 Location: Somewhere
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 06:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Awww i liked the little guy....here bot ya want some lug nuts? _________________ Domus Cruo Lokemundux |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DustyStyx 2D Artist

Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 2010 Location: Salt Lake
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 08:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You're right. It's probably fielding forums that will later be Google indexed. If it gets a positive listing, that phpBB forum can then be used as a spring board for some other nefarious bot activity.
Edit: Yup, if you search for content of the post, you will find 2 pages of forums with the exact same text.
I guess I'll have to go delete that post.
A note to unregistered guests, if you've posted for the first time and your post has been deleted for being to general, please don't take offense, I'm just trying to battle the spambots. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Karachi123 Guest
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 05:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
| Infact not all the forum users are spam bots, some do the real stuff and perform their duty genuinely of link building. You can say the spam bots who use offensive language or sexy websites etc in their posts. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
DustyStyx 2D Artist

Joined: 11 Aug 2004 Posts: 2010 Location: Salt Lake
|
Posted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 01:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| ... or by doing a Google search of their text strings and finding the exact same phrases poping up on 50+ seemingly unrelated forums; that's generally what I base it off of. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
|