How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Discuss and hash out the Blood universe here.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Dimebog
The Enlightened Florist
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 02:22 pm
Location: Among The Living
Contact:

How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Dimebog » Fri Jan 25, 2008 01:46 pm

Want to play BLOOD with 3DFX patch applied on your XP? Read on...

1. First what you need to do is get a 3DFX patch for your version of BLOOD. You will either update your BLOOD version 1.0 to 1.20 using "R0020.EXE", version 1.11 (non-plasma) to 1.20 using "R1120.EXE" or Plasma Pak (v1.11) to 1.20 using "PCD20.EXE" file. Note that "PCD20.EXE" will also patch your OUWB even though it's said to not work with it. Get your patch here:

http://postmortem.edgegaming.com/?page=mm_files

Put it in your BLOOD folder, and run it.


2. Get NOLFB and put it in your BLOOD folder. It can be found here:

http://buildxp.deathmask.net/files/nolfb.zip


3. Get dgVoodoo glide wrapper. Pick the one on top of this page:

http://dege.freeweb.hu/ (dgVoodoo v1.50 Beta2 (released: 06.03.2007) )

Unzip all files contained within the archive into your Windows folder, but also unzip all .dll and .vxd files into your BLOOD folder. You may create shortcuts on your desktop leading to dgVoodoo.exe and dgVoodooSetup.exe files that are now found in your C:\Windows folder.


4. Put these batch files in your BLOOD folder:

http://ratm.deathmask.net/3dfx/glBlood.bat (*)
http://ratm.deathmask.net/3dfx/glCP.bat (*)

And overwrite your blood.cfg file with this one:

http://ratm.deathmask.net/3dfx/blood.cfg (*)

(note that sounds and music are turned off, and that the resolution has been set to 800x600)

* - right click, "Save Target As..." (IE), "Save Link As..." (Firefox)


5. Run dgVoodoo Setup from your desktop. Click on the "DOS" radio button in the "Platform" section on top of the window.

On the "Global" tab, check Windowed mode (for now) and make sure to disable "Working in VDD mode". You may check "Active in background" option if you want to experiment with multiplayer support sometime in the future. Make sure to check "Set mouse focus to application" because otherwise your mouse will not work, and "Always preserve window size".

Image

On the "Glide" tab, set everything up as shown here:

Image

Click ok.


6. Running BLOOD is simple.

- Run glVoodoo server from your desktop.

Image

- While the shown window is still running in the background, run glBlood.bat file that I have provided.

Image

NOTES:
- This does not emulate sounds. You may install and use VDMSound in conjunction.
- The resolution set in the dgVoodoo setup must be the same as the one that is set up in blood.cfg
- glCP.bat will switch some filenames and run Cryptic Passage. Next time you run it, the files will be switched back.
- 3DFX.EXE was released in it's alpha stage. It does not support voxels, it evokes visual glitches, and suffers from memory leaks. Good luck!
zon

3Dfx Blood still crashes

Postby zon » Thu Jan 31, 2008 06:12 am

LifeKILLED
Axe Zombie
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2006 10:23 am
Contact:

Postby LifeKILLED » Tue May 11, 2010 12:42 pm

Hey, guys, better see this!

http://www.glidos.net/blood.html?lang=en

100 percent working 3dfx with special version of DosBox. Passed on Windows 7!!! But... you need to buy Glidos ((( In demo version it working better dgVoodoo ))))
infuscomus
Rat
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 04:42 pm

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby infuscomus » Fri Feb 24, 2012 04:46 pm

The link for the 3DFX patch appears to be dead

anyone know alternate links?
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1912
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Slink » Sat Mar 03, 2012 09:00 pm

Cool. :) I found this: http://www.si-gamer.net/gulikoza/glide.html

Frankly, I think I might prefer the original look of Blood's Build Engine. What do you all think? What looks better in Blood with 3Dfx?
User avatar
Ransu
Night Owl
Posts: 550
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2006 09:44 pm
Location: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Contact:

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Ransu » Thu Mar 29, 2012 09:26 am

That's a nice find, Slink. I'll have to test it out sometime. :)
User avatar
Edmond Dantes
Axe Zombie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:17 am

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Edmond Dantes » Tue Feb 04, 2014 01:08 am

So, umm, the link to the 3dFX patch seems to be dead.

Also, since my beloved Mazinkaiser already has a Voodoo 3 in it, I assume I won't need the Glide wrapper?

(tho... like the guy above, I might prefer vanilla Blood)
User avatar
Corvin
Cultist
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 06:07 am
Location: r-t-c-m.com
Contact:

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Corvin » Tue Feb 11, 2014 02:04 pm

The 3Dfx exe won't work with a Voodoo 3 correctly, even after forcing the card with SET commands.

Try running it with a custom glide supported DosBox and nGlide wrapper.

But I don't know how this would work with existing Voodoo hardware/drivers.
User avatar
Edmond Dantes
Axe Zombie
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2014 10:17 am

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Edmond Dantes » Fri Feb 14, 2014 11:46 am

Yeah, and since my Mazinkaiser is a 700mhz machine specifically meant for older games, Blood running via Dosbox would be unplayable in it.

Oh well, I'm happy with vanilla Blood. (or would that be cherry Blood?)
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1151
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Tchernobog » Fri Feb 14, 2014 08:00 pm

Edmond Dantes wrote:Oh well, I'm happy with vanilla Blood. (or would that be cherry Blood?)


Chocolate Blood? :P
User avatar
dosgamer000
Acolyte
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 07:57 pm
Location: Boggy Creek

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby dosgamer000 » Thu Feb 27, 2014 07:05 pm

Chocolate Blood, you say? :wink:

I wouldn't doubt the Cabal makes candies and desserts out of blood, now that you guys mention it! :lol:
User avatar
Corvin
Cultist
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2004 06:07 am
Location: r-t-c-m.com
Contact:

Re: How to: Play BLOOD with 3DFX patch

Postby Corvin » Tue Sep 09, 2014 07:15 am

This document will help for a custom glide dosbox and the free nglide wrapper.

http://r-t-c-m.com/knowledge-base/docum ... blood.html

Return to “General Blood”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests