TFn 1.01 on DirectQ

General discussion relating to the Transfusion project.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Acolyte
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 03:13 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

TFn 1.01 on DirectQ

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sun Apr 18, 2010 09:03 pm

First off, this post isn't meant as a swipe against DP. Dusty gave me the lo' down on the evils of combining an ancient Geforce 5200 gfx card and Darkplaces.

That said, the frame rate increase was dramatic. The DirectQ isn't a wrapper or an emulator, it uses the DirectX (versions 9c, 10, 11) D3D renderer exclusively. I chose "wrong side of the tracks" for testing because I know where the slowdowns are most dramatic on that map. ~30 fps was the low, with much higher frame rates being the norm.

There were some major issues as DirectQ is still very much a work in progress. Distant textures still flash (tearing) and some textures simply aren't rendered correctly. Direct sound had some clipping as well. This quake port doesn't plan to implement a lot of high end features and there was no hud. Still a great little engine though.


http://directq.codeplex.com/
Last edited by zZaRDoZz on Mon Apr 19, 2010 02:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:48 pm

I'm glad you could get it working on another engine.
User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Acolyte
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 03:13 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sun Apr 18, 2010 10:51 pm

I need to point out that DirectQ was tested against the version of DP that is distributed with Tfn 1.01, not the most current version.
User avatar
Elric
Cabal member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 07:35 am
Location: Paris & Limoges, France

Postby Elric » Mon Apr 19, 2010 06:53 am

DustyStyx wrote:I'm glad you could get it working on another engine.

TFn 1.0x is supposed to be compatible with any Quake engine. It should only miss a few bells and whistles compared to running it on DP.
User avatar
zZaRDoZz
Acolyte
Posts: 416
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 03:13 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Postby zZaRDoZz » Sun Jun 06, 2010 02:26 am

As for the most recent addition (1.8.4.) of DirectQ, It does not run Tfn 1.01 save the intro demos. It's not terribly important as 1.01 isn't the latest Tfn Build. I just felt the need to post something.

Return to “Transfusion Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests