IQMs for Transfusion?

Discuss model development here.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

IQMs for Transfusion?

Postby DustyStyx » Wed Sep 01, 2010 03:53 pm

After poking around some, Ive been told to try using the IQM format for our models.

The developer's kit can be found here: http://lee.fov120.com/iqm/

It does have plug-ins for Blender, but I've not been able to get it to work with the Blender 2.5 beta. I imagine that I'm doing something wrong, but there's not that much documentation with it and I'm new to Blender so that's not surprising.

Has anyone else had any luck with this?
Last edited by DustyStyx on Wed Dec 01, 2010 06:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:48 pm

Motorsep (who can be found in the #darkplaces irc channel on irc.anynet.org) is using the IQM format in his upcoming game called Steel Storm. You may want to have a chat with him.

BlackHC also wrote an export tool that may or may not be helpful; http://svn.icculus.org/darkwar/trunk/ba ... iew=markup
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Sat Sep 04, 2010 01:04 pm

Thanks Willis. I'll follow up on that. I was also poking around the Xonotic forums and found reference to the ASE model format. Do you know anything about it? I didn't see anything about it on the DP wiki.
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Sun Sep 05, 2010 07:13 am

I don't know anything about it, but a quick search led me to http://www.modwiki.net/wiki/ASE_%28file_format%29

Looks like it has more to do with the modeling software format than a game engine format, but could have something to do with the potential replacement for q3bsp maps that has been rumored for quite some time (though I think DP plans on using them in .map format somehow). Static meshes make perfect sense for level, but can be more demanding on the engine I'd assume, as there is less pre-compiling.
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Tue Sep 07, 2010 02:50 pm

Thanks for the link. I suppose it's something to the "possibilities" bin.

Return to “Model Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests