Blood LAN Game on XP? Can It Be?

Want to spill some blood? Let others know and coordinate here.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Desdinova
Axe Zombie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 01:28 pm

Postby Desdinova » Thu Mar 10, 2005 05:44 pm

I think that Commit is just used by setup.exe when trying to start a multiplayer game (could be wrong though)
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:45 pm

That is correct.

Its a little tricky, but its possible.
commit.exe uses "commit.dat" file to launch, and inside that file it determines which game file to run (blood.exe)

That can be changed to blood.vlp I believe, but it likes to reset every time commit is ran unless you set the file to read-only.
Number II
Fanatic
Posts: 117
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2004 02:44 am

Postby Number II » Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:47 pm

What if you set it to, say, UnrealTournament.exe? :wink:
scirmast
Cultist
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:07 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Postby scirmast » Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:02 pm

Slink wrote:Good news: Commit 1.4 is all you need for beautiful lan play over TCP/IP.


Hold on! Do you mean that commit 1.4 TCP/IP will run like Normal commit on LAN (assuming pings are around 50)?
User avatar
Necrosis
Bubble Wrap Man
*not Canadian*
Posts: 1242
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 01:38 am
Location: In The Flesh
Contact:

Postby Necrosis » Thu Jul 21, 2005 04:00 am

Hi guys, I'm a new forum member, long time Blood fan (I am 13. I'll not lie to you fellow bloodites. Back in the worshipped year of 1997, when my dad was still a gamer, one of his friends bought blood and I borrowed it and "forgot" to return it :wink: ), and have been lurking about Transfusion's forums for about 3 months now. I finally decided I'd join and so here I am.

I've done this too, just now actually. My brother and I did some co-op. We had some problems, due to one computer not running VDMS and having to run Blood with crap sound, but it remained synched for the most part and we got to Phantom Express without any errors. We didn't play past Phantom Express because he was getting bored. I find him to be clinically insane. He rarely plays Blood despite having complete access to it. Either way, we did the exact procedure described here. We COULD have had 3 computers running it, but mine was having NetBIOS problems. The two computers used had Win XP, Pentium 4s and slightly old soundcards. This is pretty much just for reference to anyone wanting to try it, it took much mucking about with stuff though, and I might be able to answer questions about it.

I'd say I've done enough introduction as well as posting... :)
Daedalus
The Dreaming God
Posts: 1015
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 05:06 pm
Location: The Hall of the Epiphany
Contact:

Postby Daedalus » Thu Jul 21, 2005 04:21 am

Welcome, little brother! I'm ÐÐ. The resident Dreaming God of Blood. You'll always find a friendly face here and NEVER hesitate to talk about Blood. I can speak about any part of Blood non stop... ahh, but this is not the place for this.

Welcome to the fold! :twisted:
User avatar
predator
Lead Mapper
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:51 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Postby predator » Thu Jul 21, 2005 05:58 am

Welcome Necrosis.
Drakan

Necv Xouhkot

Posts: 1002
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 01:02 pm

Postby Drakan » Thu Jul 21, 2005 06:50 am

Welcome Necrosis!
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Thu Jul 21, 2005 06:53 am

Welcome, Necrosis. Glad the instructions worked for you, and thanks for reporting on it. :wink: I've been far to lazy and just prefer to play Blood on a legacy box/lan
Chrispy

Postby Chrispy » Thu May 25, 2006 11:20 pm

Hi Necrosis, i might need ur help. We are trying to set up a LAN connection with two Win XP PCs. We start with VDMSound and low level network support enabled. We find each other with commit(using ver 1.4, blood ver. 1.11) but everytime short before the game should be starting, it locks up with the msg: "waiting for network players" after "initializing sound system".
If that problem ist well known to you, please help us.
User avatar
Necrosis
Bubble Wrap Man
*not Canadian*
Posts: 1242
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2005 01:38 am
Location: In The Flesh
Contact:

Postby Necrosis » Fri May 26, 2006 02:12 am

I don't know if I can help, I did mine with 1.21, and a veeeeerry long time ago.

Wow... That thing's almost a year old now...
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Postby Slink » Fri May 26, 2006 05:39 am

scirmast wrote:
Slink wrote:Good news: Commit 1.4 is all you need for beautiful lan play over TCP/IP.


Hold on! Do you mean that commit 1.4 TCP/IP will run like Normal commit on LAN (assuming pings are around 50)?

Yes. Haven't you grown impatient and tried it already? ;) -Slink
Rogue Martyr
Rat
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Rogue Martyr » Thu Jun 08, 2006 08:24 pm

Slink wrote:Good news: Commit 1.4 is all you need for beautiful lan play over TCP/IP.


How does commit 1.4 support TCP/IP??? my 1.4 used IPX so i disabled that thinking it would default to TCP but didnt and crashed. Could you elaborate on this please?
Rogue Martyr
Rat
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:15 pm
Location: London, UK

Postby Rogue Martyr » Thu Jun 08, 2006 08:26 pm

Chrispy wrote:Hi Necrosis, i might need ur help. We are trying to set up a LAN connection with two Win XP PCs. We start with VDMSound and low level network support enabled. We find each other with commit(using ver 1.4, blood ver. 1.11) but everytime short before the game should be starting, it locks up with the msg: "waiting for network players" after "initializing sound system".
If that problem ist well known to you, please help us.


Hi,

yes im getting this problem too... anyone? I never used to have this problem...
User avatar
RedFanatic
A More Tidy Caleb
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 04:56 pm
Location: Somewhere

Postby RedFanatic » Fri Jun 09, 2006 01:02 am

Well i have played Blood Lan on Xp it is possible. but for some unknown reason is stopped working when my bro upgraded his system haveen't really struggled with it too much but it has some thing to do with IPX being installed i think :shrug:

as far as i know thought as long as you've got the latest Commit it should just work

Return to “Blood Bath”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests