Blood LAN Game on XP? Can It Be?

Want to spill some blood? Let others know and coordinate here.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Desdinova
Axe Zombie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 01:28 pm

Blood LAN Game on XP? Can It Be?

Postby Desdinova » Tue Aug 17, 2004 11:52 am

http://38.113.204.56/~kahnmit/

It describes itself as a utility to play blood lan games in XP!!!!

Has anyone tried it?
Does it work?

I CAN't WAIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :twisted:
User avatar
Jethro
Fanatic
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 05:01 pm
Location: Poland

Postby Jethro » Tue Aug 17, 2004 02:05 pm

Bad news ;(

I've tried it - it sounded great till I found out that it requires Khan - this IPX emulator uses VXD kernel drivers, so, in fact, it requires Windows 9x/Me to run - it won't work on any NT based Windows, including XP ;( So Your (our ;/) only hope to play Blood via Internet is Transfusion ...
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:17 pm

This was posted on the PlanetBlood forum a little while ago.

Author: ddriag <gareth_krantz@hotmail.com>
Date: 7/29/04 6:06:00 PM
Subject: winxp blood(/build?) LAN multiplayer working!

well after some tinkering I managed to get my winXP machine to connect to a LAN game with a winMe machine . Im pretty certain that 2 or more XP/win2k machines will be able to connect the same way.
I basically enabled VDMsound's 'low level network support' checkbox when creating a VDMSound shortcut to setup.exe in the Blood directory. Setup.exe is the only way to start a LAN game in Blood.

this is what you need to do:
I took the vdmsound shortcut (http://www.deathmask.net/buildxp/files/blood.vlp) from this cool site and saved it on my desktop (or any other directory). I right clicked properties and set the shortcut to point to setup.exe (instead of blood.exe) with no arguments.
After clicking OK, I opened it up in textpad added the following line to it under the section [winnt.storage]:

useNetware=yes

Save the vlp shortcut from notepad and run setup.exe from that shortcut and you should be able to play an IPX LAN game fine, as long as all XP/Win2k machines start the same way!
BTW: useNetware=yes is an option which gets set when you create a vdmsound shortcut when you check 'low level network support'

Hopefully this helps people. Good luck, This is a great game to COOP with, especially with an industry that is too lazy to support COOP nowadays.
EDIT:
btw You may need to get a hold of COMMIT.EXE version 1.4 (which comes with Duke3d atomic), as I havent tried it with the 1.3 version which comes with Whole Blood.

It may work with 1.3, though I've read that 1.3 may not be XP friendly.


You can get COMMIT.EXE v1.4 here

I've not personaly tried this yet, so I can't say if it will work or not.
Guest

Postby Guest » Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:34 pm

Q: How can I play Duke directly on LAN without using Kahn?
A: Install IPX/SPX on every computer in LAN, then launch Kahnmit, set reduction to none and play. If you don't want to install IPX, run Kahn in local server mode on one of the computers and connect other computers to that one using Kahn (insert server - type ip of server computer - connect).


That's from the Khanmit site. And if it still dont work, then Cruiach's helpful post keeps our hope alive!
User avatar
Desdinova
Axe Zombie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 01:28 pm

Postby Desdinova » Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:34 pm

The guest was me btw!

:D
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Tue Aug 17, 2004 06:39 pm

I've been meaning to update the BuildXP page with networking support for some time now, but have been too busy to get a testbed going to make sure everything works. Hopefully sometime soon, but I've said that soo many times :(
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 762
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Postby I Live...AGAIN » Wed Aug 18, 2004 05:16 am

OK,

I tested this on my lan tonight and it works fine,

just get Blood to work in XP using the BuildXP page
http://www.deathmask.net/buildxp/

then change the Blood.vlp to point to setup.exe instead of blood.exe,,

TA DA!!! Blood multiplayer in XP....

Very Important:::: Make sure you have loaded the IPX protocol on your network connection in XP or it wont work[/url]
User avatar
Desdinova
Axe Zombie
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 01:28 pm

Postby Desdinova » Wed Aug 18, 2004 08:12 am

Woohoo!
But now I think I am going to lose my job....how am I going to concentrate on work when I'd be thinking of that gorgeous BloodBath? :lol:
hund_
Axe Zombie
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 05:06 am
Location: point away from face and fire

Postby hund_ » Thu Aug 19, 2004 03:45 pm

I Live...AGAIN wrote:OK,

I tested this on my lan tonight and it works fine,

Very Important:::: Make sure you have loaded the IPX protocol on your network connection in XP or it wont work[/url]

does this work between different os's?
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Thu Aug 19, 2004 06:52 pm

From the first paragraph.
Well after some tinkering I managed to get my WinXP machine to connect to a LAN game with a WinMe machine.


I would gess that it would work between Win98, WinME, Win2K, and WinXP. But they might all need to run Blood using the BuildXP VM setings.
User avatar
Slink

Not to be a dick, but...

Posts: 1913
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 04:42 am
Location: Niagara County, NY

Postby Slink » Sat Aug 28, 2004 03:08 am

Good news: Commit 1.4 is all you need for beautiful lan play over TCP/IP.

Bad news: Only catch is that you cant play smooth(will be unplayable) if you run with sound in XP, in my experience.

Advice: Keep a back-up copy of the old version of commit.exe in the case that any problems arise with your copy of 1.4
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Sat Aug 28, 2004 04:13 am

Unfortunatly, it will be some time before I have time to make any updates, but hopefully the next one will contain a lot of useful information for BuildXP.

In reply to unplayability with sound in XP, there is actually a fix to that, and that is editing the commit.dat file (open it with notepad or something similar), editing the launch file from blood.exe to the blood.vlp shortcut, which should make a tremendous difference.
IHateMimes

Postby IHateMimes » Tue Feb 22, 2005 02:51 am

Is there a chance to play multiplayer through the Internet? :( Blood1 I mean, not Transfusion
User avatar
Cruo
Axe Zombie
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 05:15 am
Location: Iowa
Contact:

Postby Cruo » Thu Mar 10, 2005 11:07 am

IHateMimes wrote:Is there a chance to play multiplayer through the Internet? :( Blood1 I mean, not Transfusion


Kali.net
User avatar
mouth
Acolyte
Posts: 544
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2005 08:33 am
Contact:

Postby mouth » Thu Mar 10, 2005 03:18 pm

How about putting VDM shortcut to commit.exe?

Return to “Blood Bath”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests