transfusion wont start...please help

This is the place where information regarding beta releases will be. Discussion about bugs, changes, or questions should be posted here.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

CellyCel

transfusion wont start...please help

Postby CellyCel » Mon Sep 20, 2004 11:28 pm

first of all..

i was like whaaaaat da f*******ck
when i heard about this project !!!!

major props goin out to the developers of this project !!!

now...i downloaded the 1.01 version of the mod...
installed it...
when i run the exe
my screen switches into 640x480 mode,
i see my desktop wallpaper, and i hear the blood sounds !!!
but..
there's nothin showin up...no blood menu, no in-game scenes that fit the sound...just my desktop wallpaper..
i can alt+tab and switch back to my normal windows mode
and back to the game, but all i see is the 640x480 mode...

i also tried to run the new beta version, but same problem there...

can anyone please help me ?!
i would love to play this game again !! now even online !!!

im runnin a P IV 2,4 , 512 RAM, Radeon 9700 Pro, i just installed Direct X 9.c today, don't know if that matters..
and im runnin win 2000...maybe it is because of win2000 ?!

thx a lot in advance !!!
any hint is welcome how to fix this...
User avatar
DustyStyx
2D Artist
Posts: 2069
Joined: Wed Aug 11, 2004 02:12 am
Location: Salt Lake
Contact:

Postby DustyStyx » Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:17 am

It dosen't sound like there shouldn't be any thing wrong with your specs.
Just as a longshot, have you tried runing the exe from command like under a full screen consol? It may just be that windows is having problems changing between normal windows mode and OpenGL. Do you have any problems with any other OpenGL based games GLQuake for example?
CellyCel

Postby CellyCel » Tue Sep 21, 2004 10:23 am

Cruaich wrote:It dosen't sound like there shouldn't be any thing wrong with your specs.
Just as a longshot, have you tried runing the exe from command like under a full screen consol? It may just be that windows is having problems changing between normal windows mode and OpenGL. Do you have any problems with any other OpenGL based games GLQuake for example?


thx for replyin !

i just tried to run the game from cmd...
- in full screen cmd mode the game switches back to windows desktop 1024x768 resolution with a " transfusion " window and i start hearin the sounds again...but the window stays all black and i cant do anything...so i have to close again via alt-tab
- in window cmd mode i got the same problem as when runnin normally from windows..

can you name some other OpenGL based games ?!
i played quake back n da days, but on my old computer, so i cant tell ya
if GLQuake is runnin with this comp now..

please help me out !!!
Blood deathmatch is still one of the best mp games to date !
User avatar
Elric
Cabal member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 07:35 am
Location: Paris & Limoges, France

Postby Elric » Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:40 am

Did you update the drivers of your graphic card recently? It may be the problem. Since Transfusion uses OpenGL, not DirectX, updating DirectX won't help much. You have to install the ATI drivers by yourself I think.

The ATI RADEON drivers for Win2k are here.
CellyCel

Postby CellyCel » Tue Sep 21, 2004 12:37 pm

im 99% sure it wont run because of my open GL drivers !!

i just tried to run the call of duty addon of my friend, but it wont start...
it says " could not load open gl "

i got catalyst driver 4.7 installed right now..
im sure its no difference, concering open gl, to update to 4.9 right now..
im searchin for open gl drivers now...

i remember there were so called open gl mini drivers or 3dfx cards in da past, to run quake or half life...
CellyCel

Postby CellyCel » Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:11 pm

i finally updated to 4.9
and now its runnin !!!


awesome !!!!!!
oh my god !!!!
great work !!!
the graphics look tight !!

but another question...
the game is runnin in window mode..
is there any chance to run it in fullscreen mode?
alt+enter doesnt work..

great great
if anyone wanna play get at me !!
i will register now in this forum
User avatar
predator
Lead Mapper
Posts: 1114
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2004 12:51 pm
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Contact:

Postby predator » Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:12 pm

I have Radeon on one of my computers and it has the latest drivers - TF runs just fine.
User avatar
Elric
Cabal member
Posts: 168
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 07:35 am
Location: Paris & Limoges, France

Postby Elric » Tue Sep 21, 2004 02:37 pm

CellyCel wrote:the game is runnin in window mode..
is there any chance to run it in fullscreen mode?
alt+enter doesnt work..

Sure. In the menu, go to Options -> Video. Launching the game once with "-fullscreen" in the command line is another way to do it.
CellyCel
Rat
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:12 pm
Contact:

Postby CellyCel » Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:59 am

its all workin fine with the beta 3 !!!

but when i joined a game online, it was hella lagging...
my commands reacted like 1-3 seconds later..
impossible to kill anyone like dat..
User avatar
Toddd
Cultist
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 10:52 am

Postby Toddd » Wed Sep 22, 2004 09:34 am

CellyCel wrote:its all workin fine with the beta 3 !!!

but when i joined a game online, it was hella lagging...
my commands reacted like 1-3 seconds later..
impossible to kill anyone like dat..


That's a ping related problem. You should choose a server with a ping < 200
User avatar
Willis

Master of the Mask
Lead Programmer

Posts: 870
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2004 09:28 am
Location: Eau Claire, WI USA
Contact:

Postby Willis » Wed Sep 22, 2004 09:40 am

Actually, there are known issues with the engine that was included with Beta3, which is why Elric has made a new engine snapshot with new netcode in it, hopefully things will be better, but things will limbo a little bit until Beta4 is out I'd guess, but thats what betas are for!
CellyCel
Rat
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 01:12 pm
Contact:

Postby CellyCel » Wed Sep 22, 2004 11:24 am

i cant wait for a better network code, so we can all play some deathmatch, withouht anyone laggin and s***...

Return to “Beta Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests