My new rig

Anything not gaming related goes here. Not sure where something should be posted? Post it in here.

Moderators: Slink, General Discussion Moderators

User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Sat Feb 23, 2013 02:31 am

As I mentioned in another thread, I was in the process of getting almost all of my hardware upgraded, and here is the result:

Code: Select all

Operating System: Arch Linux
Graphics Driver: R600 Gallium3D Driver
Desktop Environment: Xfce with composting
Motherboard: MSI 760GM-E51(FX)
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE 3.2 Ghz
Video Card: Diamond AMD Radeon HD 4670
Memory: 4 Gigabytes DDR3 PC10666, 1333 MHz
Hard Drive: 2 TB Western Digital Caviar Green


Not the most impressive machine out there but still fairly respectable I would say. :)

I have also made the leap from Fedora to Arch Linux alongside my hardware upgrades, and while I do still like Fedora I must admit to enjoying many of the things that Arch is putting on offer for me. I am especially liking all of the video game source ports I can grab from AUR, building myself an array of Doom and Quake engine derivatives as well as EDuke32 and a couple others.

Transfusion is also available from the AUR, shipping the latest 1.05 Beta 2 release, although it does seem to be running it through the already installed Darkplaces engine on my machine rather than the one it originally shipped with, which results in better working sound and other such goodness. I do get an odd bob and the napalm launcher does not show unless it is akimbo, but it is a beta. :P
Image

Also of interest is how well Blood II is working with the latest WINE release shipped with Arch. The performance slow-downs with the 2D overlays that I previously reported now seem to have finally been resolved and I am getting close to native performance with it, which seems very novel after fighting with it after so many years. I do still need to run it in a 1024x768 window though as if I run it full-screen at my native resolution it does get a little unstable.
Image

Blood is also liking my Quad Core when it comes to running it in Dosbox, although I had to force it to "max" cycles in the dosbox configuration file before it started to have any real effect. It is still not running as well as I would like it to be though, with it still requiring me to play at a rather small 800x600 resolution in order for it to play it fully fluidly.
Image

Still, for the most part things are looking up, and I am glad I upgraded. :)
User avatar
I Live...AGAIN
Cabal member
Posts: 762
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2004 05:33 am
Location: Detroit
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby I Live...AGAIN » Sun Feb 24, 2013 08:07 pm

Awesome!

The rig looks nice. I see you have Quake 1,2,3 on your desktop. Can you play QuakeLive in your browser in that build? I've been having the itch to play that lately but all my old friends have been deleted.
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:56 pm

It is interesting, I am huge Quake3 player but I never did get onto Quake Live, largely due to my internet not being good enough at the time. If you really would like someone to play against I will consider it though, now that I have unlimited internet. It should in theory work without issue. :)

Each of the Quake icons points to a source port I grabbed and built from the AUR - darkplaces for Quake 1, yamagi for Quake II, and ioquake3 for Quake 3. I also have both Doomsday and Chocolate Doom installed for the classic Doom games, as well as EDuke32. I had not touched Doomsday since back when I was forced to use Windows XP almost a decade ago, so it is fun to see it in action again. :guns:
User avatar
dosgamer000
Acolyte
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 07:57 pm
Location: Boggy Creek

Re: My new rig

Postby dosgamer000 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 05:36 am

Tchernobog wrote:It is interesting, I am huge Quake3 player but I never did get onto Quake Live, largely due to my internet not being good enough at the time. If you really would like someone to play against I will consider it though, now that I have unlimited internet. It should in theory work without issue. :)

Each of the Quake icons points to a source port I grabbed and built from the AUR - darkplaces for Quake 1, yamagi for Quake II, and ioquake3 for Quake 3. I also have both Doomsday and Chocolate Doom installed for the classic Doom games, as well as EDuke32. I had not touched Doomsday since back when I was forced to use Windows XP almost a decade ago, so it is fun to see it in action again. :guns:


Does ZDoom work on Linux, by chance? A quick Google glance makes me think it might (but you would know better, of course.) I say this because there is a plethora of wads that add engine tricks, new weaps, mons, items, gameplay enhancements etc. I find it has near limitless replay value, given the active community and all.
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Fri Mar 01, 2013 05:51 pm

Yes it does, and it is even packaged in the AUR:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/zdoom/
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/gzdoom/

But I have never actually been that big on playing Doom maps/mods, actually.
User avatar
dosgamer000
Acolyte
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 07:57 pm
Location: Boggy Creek

Re: My new rig

Postby dosgamer000 » Sat Mar 02, 2013 04:58 am

Tchernobog wrote:Yes it does, and it is even packaged in the AUR:
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/zdoom/
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/gzdoom/

But I have never actually been that big on playing Doom maps/mods, actually.


I find myself playing fan creations alot more in recent days, if only because I played the original Doom maps so many times before. However, a recent session of Blood 2 with the other Chosen made me want to do something of a character analysis on all four personalities. Truly an odd bunch!
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Sat Mar 02, 2013 09:02 am

dosgamer000 wrote:I find myself playing fan creations alot more in recent days, if only because I played the original Doom maps so many times before. However, a recent session of Blood 2 with the other Chosen made me want to do something of a character analysis on all four personalities. Truly an odd bunch!


You go have fun with that. :)

I still have a whole bunch of old HIB titles I have yet to play, so I kind of feel obligated to play through the games I have purchased rather than pursuing fan works. *goes back to bashing through Torchlight*
User avatar
dosgamer000
Acolyte
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 07:57 pm
Location: Boggy Creek

Re: My new rig

Postby dosgamer000 » Sun Mar 03, 2013 05:42 am

Yeah, I know what you mean. I feel kind of bad that I've spent more time on Duke3D Atomic maps/mods than on the original "The Birth" episode that came with it haha...
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Sun Mar 03, 2013 08:31 pm

My new wallpapers:
Image

The art on the second screen is a legitimate work from Kevin Kilstrom:
http://firestriker.deviantart.com/art/D ... -169573562

My primary monitor is showing this:
http://kracov.deviantart.com/art/Cacodemon-209052023

I also got some new Blood and Blood II icons from DeviantArt:
http://ace0fh3arts.deviantart.com/gallery/?offset=24
User avatar
dosgamer000
Acolyte
Posts: 266
Joined: Sun Aug 14, 2011 07:57 pm
Location: Boggy Creek

Re: My new rig

Postby dosgamer000 » Mon Mar 04, 2013 01:45 am

Badass, man. :guns: My wallpaper right now is the one with Caleb and the Moon (can't upload a screencap at the moment.) I had that Kilstrom one too and the theme that came on the Blood CD as well. Hearing Caleb say "Open for business..." when booting up the computer was cool but I eventually had to change it due to constant repeats of "I got a present for ya." whenever it processed something. Those icons are nice too, I really got to organize mine someday.
User avatar
Tchernobog
Tchernobog's Love Child
Posts: 1168
Joined: Tue May 27, 2008 07:30 am
Location: Rural Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: My new rig

Postby Tchernobog » Mon Mar 04, 2013 04:03 am

I have actually got the "Mall of the Dead" muzak as my login sound at the moment. Originally had the Blood II elevator music but decided it was time for something ever so slightly different when I did my new install. :P

http://www.blood-wiki.org/Random/login-sound-blood.ogg
http://www.blood-wiki.org/Random/login-sound-blood2.ogg

Return to “General Chat”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests